Google+

You’ve had me for 22 months

1

August 14, 2013 by Dadinator

We are having a second child soon, quite soon actually, and I am over the moon. I love my boy, and the thought that I get to do it again makes me grin.

I know, twice as much work, twice as many nappies, twice as much crying, twice as much crap loaded into the car to drive 10 minutes down the road and half as much sleep. But that doesn’t bother me because I get twice as much of all the good stuff too (cuddles, smiles, laughs and snooty teenagers in a little over a decade).

But, looking back over the life of The Lad (our boy), I do feel a shade of sadness that he will no longer be getting my undivided attention. I am lucky to have such a close relationship with him, and while the dynamic will change when The Lass arrives, I don’t want it to suffer. I am only human though, and I will only have so much sleep, so it will change.

I’m sure he’d have questions if he was capable of forming them. So here’s the questions I imagine he’d have, and my responses:

Lad in the chair

In the hot seat

Dad, when can I grow a beard like yours?

If you’re anything like me, by the time your 16 son. Although my Greekness might be counterbalanced by your mother’s Nordic/Slavicness…. We shall see. Can we stay on topic Lad?

Why do we need another baby?

Your mum and I never wanted just one. You’re the best thing we’ve ever done together, and we want to do it again. You will also get a little sister out of it to love for the rest of your life.

Will we still play Dad?

Yes. And before long you won’t want to play with me, you’ll have your sister to play with. Trust me.

Will I have to share?

Yes. Yes you will. That is non-negotiable, and an important lesson for you to learn.

What will I be able to do with the baby?

Not much at first, to be honest. You can tell her the things you already know. You can give her kisses and cuddles, but it will be a while before you can talk with her. Hell, it will be awhile before you can have a conversation with me, this is just a mock hypothetical blog post thing.

What happens if I need you and the baby needs you at the same time?

Well, someone’s going to have to wait. And it’s probably going to be you. There is only one of me, and one of your mother. Don’t worry, we’ll do our best, and we will get there in the end.

Will you love me as much when the baby is born?

Absolutely.

Will the baby like me?

Almost certainly, you’re a lovely boy. She might not be able to show it at first, but I’m sure she’ll think you’re very big and clever and will try to do everything you do.

Will she like all the things I like?

I have no idea, but I think she probably will. You’ll teach her everything you know, and she’ll probably want to copy you. Maybe she’ll find new things that you’ll start to like.

What will happen when the baby comes?

Your mum will go to hospital, and will stay there for a couple of days. Don’t worry, you’ll visit her every day she’s there and you’ll get to see your sister. Your grandma will look after you for a bit, and I will too. Then we will bring the baby home together.

Can I have a biscuit?

Not right now, no.

Anything else? No? Good. If you think of more questions let me know.

Hang on, who am I talking to?

 

Any wise words on how to juggle more than one would be greatly appreciated in the comments.

One thought on “You’ve had me for 22 months

  1. The reality is that at least for the first few months young Hector will be hungry when little lass is asleep,will need a nappy change when lassie won’t.It gets interesting when the two little ones want everything at exactly the same time—food,kisses,wiping of runny noses,questions answered–pronto- play with me first,but no matter how much you love them equally,there will always be doubts in their little hearts that maybe ‘I’m getting less of dad and mum than the other one.Much fun times ahead.It,s a time of learning about the children and of yourself.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 609 other followers

