Google+

Feel good post for when I’m not feeling good.

Leave a comment

July 13, 2013 by Dadinator

Not that long ago I read this post about ways to avoid illnesses that sweep through your family. I am currently in the sights of the bug that has moved through my boy and The Mamanator, just in time for school to go back next week. I thought I might try to perk myself up with my own list of things I love about The Lad. You might find stuff you love about your kids in here, or you might find similar patterns. But this is my list. Well really it is our list; The Lad’s and mine.

This is also a good time to reflect on this because in 2 months he will no longer be an only child, which in an odd sense is saddening. He won’t get all my time and attention anymore. Our relationship will shift, and the job of parenting will get that little bit harder.

I love his smile. Especially when it’s just a little messy.

image

I love the way he shouts “Cuddle!!” and collapses on me, with absolute faith that I won’t let him fall. (So far, so good although his forehead is getting to groin height…)

I love the way he points at pictures in books in a set order, and looks at me every time he says a word, waiting for me to repeat it back.

I love the way he says “Happy” (apppeeeeeee)!

I love the way he makes explosion noises now, I taught him that.

I love his developing geekyness, he can say moon, star and planet. And knows what they are.

I love the way his face lights up when I start blowing bubbles. They are the best thing ever.

I love the way he feels in the crook of my arm as I rock him to sleep. It is hard work some nights, but it’s a great feeling.

I love the way he throws his arms around my neck.

I love the way he says “Oh noooo” with such earnestness. Actually I love the way he can only speak with such intense earnestness.

I love waiting to hear what his first word in the morning. Whatever it may be.

I love watching him run back and forth. And back and forth. And back and forth…..

And I’m sure I’ll love the way he will love his little sister when she joins us.

Okay, still have a headache. But I also have a inner warm fuzzy feeling.

I strongly recommend taking the time to write this stuff down, especially for when things get hard. Which is a lot of the time.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 609 other followers

