Google+

Mothers day.

Leave a comment

May 13, 2013 by Dadinator

I forgot to post about it.

I didn’t forget it happened. I didn’t know I was going to see my mum this Mother’s Day until mid-lastweek. However it turns out I stayed the night at her house on Saturday with The Lad (see previous post) and we were able to hang out together in the morning, which was lovely.

My mother came up to visit us in Guildford last weekend on Saturday. She finally got to spend the gift voucher we’d gotten her for her birthday at Castlemaine Art Supplies. We had plans to give her a surprise lunch, but she turned up with an empty box of sushi which she had eaten in the way up, thwarting us. While driving home we noticed that The Lad was nearly asleep, so The Wife and I decided we would overshoot our house and extend the drive out a bit to encourage him to nod off. It worked. We ended up at a place called The Chocolate Mill,  and I thought it presented an opportunity to get something for my mother. Turns out that was a mistake.

To explain: My mother is besotted with The Lad. To be honest, so am I; he’s just so damn good looking (like his father, right?). Therefore in her eyes The Lad should/must my primary concern. If I concern myself with other people in my family – such as my mother – I am depriving him of my attention and care. So by this logic, spending money on something such as chocolates for mum amounts to stealing from The Lad. At least I think that’s how it works. Mum simply said “I want you to look after your family, not buy me chocolates and things”. You cannot argue with my mother… Well maybe YOU can, but I cannot.

So either I was a terrible son on mother’s day for not getting my mum anything, or I was a good son for doing what my mother said she wanted. I dunno. I felt a bit like the former, to be honest. I would have taken her out for breakfast, but she pre-empted my plans by buying a stack of breakfast food for the morning and telling me all about it the night before. There’s a pattern here….

At least I said happy Mother’s Day. And she spent the morning of Mothers Day playing with her undisputed favourite boy, The Lad. I need to be more cunning next year.

The Wife, however, got a cool present from “The Lad” a boxed set of Star Trek the Original Series on DVD. And before you jump to conclusions, this wasn’t a ‘really for me’ present, it is 100% and absolutely what she asked for. We shall curl up on the couch in front of the fire and start watching it tonight once The Lad is asleep. The joy of a geeky marriage….

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,719 other followers

